Current exhibition from 9 April to 20 November 2016
“The Secret Castle” Special opening of the “Passetto”
At Castel Sant’Angelo an event shows the public a unique route that is usually closed to visitors. Will be open for a few months, the Passetto di Borgo that connects the Castle to the Vatican palaces, historical Prisons, the Oil and Lion backyard x
The Passetto di Borgo, popularly called in Roman er Runner (corridor), is located in Rome and is the name that takes that stretch the Vatican walls that connects the Vatican with Castel Sant’Angelo.
It was built by Nicholas III who first moved the papal residence from the Lateran Palace. The walls were in bad shape and in the process of restoration it was decided to build a step that would lead to the castle directly from the Vatican Palaces.
He wanted to allow the head of the Church to take refuge in case of need within the castle and at the same time have a stronghold that would allow better control of the district.
In 1494 the Passetto allowed Pope Alexander VI (Rodrigo Borgia) to take refuge in the Castle during the invasion of Rome militia of Charles VIII of France.
In 1527 Pope Clement VII (Giulio de ‘Medici) he also took refuge in the Castle, through the Passetto, during the Sack of Rome carried out by the mercenaries of Charles V. In the year of Jubilee (2000), as it did for other architectural works, the Passetto was put back into operation and today it can be visited only by appointment.
For more information contact
COOP. THE DREAM
R.Margherita Avenue, 192 00198 – Rome (Italy)
Ph. +39/0685301758 Fax +39/0685301756